

Minutes of last Councillors' Forum meeting

Councillors' Forum

Thursday, 25 January 2024

Hybrid Meeting - 18 Smith Square and Online

Attendance

An attendance list is attached as Appendix A

Item Decisions

1 Welcome, Declarations of Interest

The Chair welcomed attendees to the Councillors Forum and introduced Joanna Killian, who would join the LGA as Chief Executive from March 2024.

2 Crown Commercial Services

The Chair welcomed Eddie Gibson (National Senior Account Manager, Local Communities and Housing) and David Bemrose (Head of Account Strategy for Local Communities and Housing Sector) from the Crown Commercial Service (CCS) to give a presentation to the Councillors Forum. Eddie and David presented on the work of the CCS, in particular that they assist Councils to drive services that bring value. It was explained that the CCS is owned by the public sector and that it self-finances with any surplus going back into the public purse. They explained that CCS does not set policy but helps to implement policy across the public sector estate.

In the conversation that followed, the following points were made:

- CCS was now a business partner of SOLACE.
- A number of examples of policies CCS had supported the implementation of were shared with Members including investing in an account management team dedicated to facing into the local government sector. Every Council would have a dedicated account manager.
- CCS had undertaken a new procurement and invested money in the LGA to take on this role.
- A request was made for CCS to look into work, such as peer challenges, focused on climate change.
- CCS also reminded Members that they were holding a roundtable with Councillors on 6 February 2024.



3 Chair's Update

Members noted the Chair's update. The Chair emphasised that the LGA welcomed the news of the additional £600m funding for Local Government, which had been announced since the 2024/25 Provisional Local Government Finance Settlement due to lobbying from across the sector. The Chair explained it was almost unprecedented for a Government to announce additional funding at that point in the year. He also emphasised that it was not enough to address the amount of gaps and challenges facing Council budgets.

The Chair expressed his thanks to Simon Hoare MP, the Minister for Local Government, for his engagement with the sector and that he was looking forward to continuing working with the Minister.

4 LGA Board Chair Reports

The Chair invited the following Chairs to update on the work of Boards:

- Children and Young People Board Cllr Louise Gittins
- Local Infrastructure and Net Zero Board Cllr Darren Rodwell
- People and Places Board Cllr Martin Tett

6 Digest of the last meeting held on 19 October 2023

The digest of the last meeting was agreed as a correct record.

Appendix A -Attendance

Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
Chairman Members	Cllr Shaun Davies Cllr Joe Harris Cllr Bev Craig Cllr Anntoinette Bramble Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe Cllr John Merry CBE Cllr Amanda Serjeant Cllr Vince Maple Cllr Richard Henry Cllr Chris Penberthy Cllr David Welsh Cllr Jack Hemingway Cllr Tudor Evans OBE Cllr Tracey Dixon Cllr Darren Rodwell Cllr Peter Marland Cllr Bella Sankey Cllr Susan Brown Cllr Kevin Bentley	Telford and Wrekin Council Cotswold District Council Manchester City Council Hackney London Borough Council Bradford Metropolitan District Council Salford City Council Chesterfield Borough Council Medway Council Stevenage Borough Council Plymouth City Council Coventry City Council Wakefield Council Plymouth City Council South Tyneside Council Barking and Dagenham London Borough Council Milton Keynes Council Brighton and Hove City Council Oxford City Council



Cllr David Fothergill Cllr William Nunn Cllr Colin Noble Cllr Tim Oliver

Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen Cllr Michael Wilcox Cllr Keith Glazier **Cllr Martin Tett** Cllr Louise McKinlay Cllr Phillip King Cllr Mark Sutton Cllr Peter Golds CBE **CIIr Barry Lewis**

Cllr John Fuller OBE Cllr Bridget Smith **Cllr Gareth Roberts**

Cllr Jon Ball

Cllr Andrew Cooper

Cllr Daniel Humphreys Cllr Julia Lepoidevin Cllr Paul Marshall

Cllr Adam Brown Cllr Ian Hollidge Cllr Simon Oakley Cllr Lynette Sullivan Cllr Heather Williams

Cllr Harvey Cohen **Cllr Bobby Bennett** Cllr Steve Foster

Cllr Rowena Bass

Cllr Isobel Darby Cllr Jane MacBean

Somerset Council **Breckland Council** Suffolk County Council

Surrey County Council **Breckland District Council** Lichfield District Council East Sussex County Council **Buckinghamshire Council**

Essex County Council Harborough District Council Staffordshire County Council **Tower Hamlets Council Derbyshire County Council**

South Norfolk District Council South Cambridgeshire District Council Richmond upon Thames London Borough

Ealing Council

Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council

Worthing Borough Council Coventry City Council

West Sussex County Council West Northants Council East Sussex County Council West Sussex County Council Hertsmere Borough Council

South Cambridgeshire District Council

Hertsmere Borough Council Suffolk County Council Hampshire County Council

Kingston upon Thames London Borough

Buckinghamshire Council Buckinghamshire Council